The Prince Rupert District Teachers’ Union (PRDTU) is a union of professionals representing the teachers of School District 52. Our members live in the communities of Prince Rupert, Port Edward, Metlakatla, and Hartley Bay (the Gitga’at First Nation), which are within the territory of the Ts’msyen Nation.

Our members provide K-12 education in the district’s nine schools, including its five elementary schools (K-5), one middle school (6-8), one secondary school (9-12), one alternative school (9-12), and one village school (K-12). Many of our students are Ts’msyen, Gitxsan, Nisga’a, Haida, Haisla, Wet’suwet’en, and Heiltsuk.

The PRDTU is a part of the BC Teachers’ Federation (BCTF).

The PRDTU works with other North Coast local unions as part of the Prince Rupert Labour Council.

GiottoPress by Enrique Chavez